OpenAI Doubles ChatGPT Usage Limits and Keeps Pro 200 Allowance Unchanged

by

MT Staff

Published: 

CORE HIGHLIGHTS
  • OpenAI is doubling usage limits for eligible ChatGPT Pro and Business Premium subscriptions immediately.
  • The change covers ChatGPT Work and Codex, which share limits under eligible subscriptions.
  • OpenAI will keep current Pro 200 limits and continue extended Dots limits for now.
ChatGPT Usage Limits

ChatGPT usage limits are doubling for eligible ChatGPT Pro and Business Premium plans, including Pro tiers priced at $100, $200 and $500. OpenAI made the change effective immediately after an update announced by Thibault Sottiaux on X on 29 October.

The higher ChatGPT usage limits apply to ChatGPT Work and Codex, which share usage limits under eligible subscriptions. OpenAI has not published the exact number of messages, tasks or other usage units available for each plan, so the practical increase may vary by account and workload.

ChatGPT Usage Limits Rise for Pro and Business Premium Plans

The updated ChatGPT usage limits cover Pro subscriptions costing $100, $200 and $500, as well as Business Premium. Eligible users can use the higher allowance across ChatGPT Work and Codex, which draw from shared usage limits on these subscriptions. Check OpenAI’s plan details for the subscription options covered by the change.

MOBILETELCO UPDATES
Follow MobileTelco on WhatsApp
Get telecom, mobile & recharge updates daily.
Join on WhatsApp →
Advertisement

OpenAI has not shared exact numerical allowances for each tier. This means users should not assume that every plan receives the same total amount of usage, or that the increase translates into a fixed number of extra prompts or coding tasks.

OpenAI Reverses Planned Pro 200 Limit Reduction

The update also reverses a planned change to the $200 Pro tier. OpenAI had said it would reduce usage limits for this tier from 29 October without lowering the subscription price. Following user feedback, the company will not make that reduction.

As a result, eligible Pro 200 users can continue using ChatGPT Work and Codex under the existing limits instead of facing the planned cut. The announcement does not give a new numerical allowance, but confirms that the reduction will not go ahead.

What Changes for ChatGPT Work and Codex?

ChatGPT Work and Codex share usage limits for eligible subscriptions. The higher limits therefore affect usage across these products, rather than creating a separate allowance for each one. How much extra work a user can complete will depend on the subscription tier and the task.

Users who rely on Codex for coding work or ChatGPT Work for longer tasks should check the ChatGPT Usage Limits information shown in their account. These ChatGPT usage limits can vary by plan and workload. Since OpenAI has not published exact tier-by-tier figures, account-level usage details remain the clearest way to understand an individual allowance.

OpenAI Keeps Extended Dots Limits for Now

OpenAI also said it will continue offering extended limits for Dots for now. Dots usage remains separate from the default usage allowance, so it should not be treated as part of the shared ChatGPT Work and Codex limits.

For more details about the feature, see our coverage of OpenAI Dots updates. Users can also read about ChatGPT Locked Chats, another feature covered on MobileTelco.in.

ChatGPT Usage Limit Changes at a Glance

FeatureDescription
Eligible subscriptionsChatGPT Pro at $100, $200 and $500, plus Business Premium.
ChangeUsage limits are doubled, effective immediately.
Products coveredChatGPT Work and Codex share usage limits under eligible subscriptions.
Pro 200 reductionThe planned reduction from 29 October will not happen after user feedback.
Exact allowancesOpenAI has not disclosed numerical limits for each subscription tier.
Dots usageExtended Dots limits will continue for now and remain separate from default usage.

Conclusion

OpenAI has increased usage limits for eligible ChatGPT Pro and Business Premium plans and cancelled the planned reduction for the $200 Pro tier. The change covers shared ChatGPT Work and Codex usage, while Dots keeps separate extended limits for now. Exact allowances by tier have not been announced.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which ChatGPT plans get doubled usage limits?

OpenAI says the change covers ChatGPT Pro plans priced at $100, $200 and $500, along with Business Premium.

When do the new ChatGPT usage limits take effect?

The higher limits took effect immediately following the announcement on 29 October.

Does the usage limit increase apply to ChatGPT Work and Codex?

Yes. ChatGPT Work and Codex share usage limits under eligible subscriptions, so the change affects usage across both products.

Will OpenAI reduce usage limits for the $200 Pro plan?

No. OpenAI reversed its planned reduction after user feedback, so the usage limits for the $200 Pro tier will not be cut as planned.

Has OpenAI disclosed the exact usage limits for each plan?

No. OpenAI has not disclosed the exact numerical allowance for each eligible subscription tier.

Are Dots usage limits included in the default allowance?

No. OpenAI will continue offering extended Dots limits for now, and Dots usage remains separate from default usage.


Discover more from MobileTelco

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

MobileTelco staff are dedicated experts, delivering the latest in mobile and telecom innovations. From cutting-edge devices to breaking news and exclusive leaks, we're committed to keeping you informed and ahead of the curve.

Leave a Reply

Discover more from MobileTelco

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

AMAZON LINKBrowse on AmazonView →